Seoul recap and hello home

Well, as I promised it was a quiet week on the blog front. I was super busy with training week and hardly had a chance to do anything besides eat (mostly convenience store food and gimbap), train, and practice teaching. Even though training was only 3 hours a day, the homework and practice took up a lot of time before and after “class,” and jet lag was a noticeable thing. I’m still feeling it a bit, but I think it’s starting to go away. I did catch a bit of a cold (I hope it’s a cold, WebMD tells me it might be strep or whooping cough) and that’s keeping me from really enjoying Daegu as much as I’d like right now. Also, teaching while sick is the least fun thing ever, even in a fake class.

The last week did sort of fly by for me. I had some incidents on the Seoul metro (almost lost my shoe to the huge gap between the platform and train, got my skirt caught in an escalator, and the many many many times that old ladies scolded me for one thing or another), but honestly there wasn’t too much to note. I only have a few pictures and they’re mostly of food. If you follow me on Instagram you’ve already seen them, so I won’t repost right now.

After I passed training on Friday, they shipped us off to Daegu (there are 3 of us new teachers) and put us on the KTX first class. I swear it did not feel like we were going 220 mph for most of that trip. It went by so quickly! I did take some notes from the ride…

-there is ondol (floor heating)
-free water! We get bottles of it out of a fancy little machine.
-my seat is HUGE. There could easily be another in front of me with leg room for both
-they washed our windows, inside and out, before we left. Fancy fancy.
-they just announced we were 3 minutes behind schedule and apologized for it (I think someone was slow to get on in Daejon). The guy behind me is visibly agitated by this info.
-a monk just got on in Gimcheon!
-no one has even checked to see if I have a ticket yet.
-every time an employee comes in or goes out the door, they give the whole car a little bow.

Again, nothing too exciting. Sorry for living such a boring life here in Korea!

I’m moved in and just about unpacked. My goal is to be all done putting clothes away tomorrow and then do a little video tour. I got the kitchen set up first (big surprise, right?) and I’m slowly moving from area to area cleaning VERY thoroughly. The place was pretty gross (and COLD) when I first got here. I was a little sad, but at least I have a one bedroom and not just a studio.

On a more personal note, I’ve been feeling a wee bit homesick recently. I don’t really have any friends here and it’s hard to get out and meet people when I have such a disgusting cough. I’m also still really tired in the evenings, so I don’t want to go out too late or do anything too wild. Even back in the States, I wasn’t a huge go out and party sort of person, so getting into it around here is really tough. I really like my quiet nights in…I know things will get better once I meet some of my coworkers (I actually went to a BBQ at a bar tonight; it was pretty fun, but I didn’t know anyone there! I’m not so good at just jumping into a new conversation), but I’m just really not feeling it right now.

Ok, that’s all until next time! I’m going to try and do this at least weekly to recap what’s been going on. And next time I promise there will be pictures! Is there anything in particular you’d like to see? My neighborhood? The trash (why??)? Something else? Let me know in the comments and I’ll try and get it up here.

One thought on “Seoul recap and hello home

  1. Sounds lovely! Glad you’re settling in and have your own space – I can’t wait to see it. I’m so proud of you, and can’t wait to hear more about your new adventure. Love you!

Leave a Reply

