52 and a bucket list

52. I have 52 days until I leave for Korea. In that time, I have trips to Texas and Florida planned (to see family), I need to go through my clothes again (moving 4 times in a year helped cut down on what I own, but I still have a long ways to go to get to the 50 lb/2 suitcase limit), I have to sell my car (anyone want a 2002 Nissan Maxima? I’m serious on this), sell one of my bikes (the other is staying in storage at my parent’s house), and hopefully buy a new camera lens, if I have the money for it. I also need to get vaccines (Hep. A and B, a flu shot, maybe typhoid, Japanese encephalitis, and malaria, plus a prescription for Cipro), get my visa, and make sure I have all my other documents together before I take off.

In addition to all the things I need to do, there are a few things I would like to do before I leave. They include…

  • Go to the Blue Nile (Ethiopian food)
  • Celebrate NY in STYLE; glitter glitter everywhere
  • Head to UMMA
  • Go sledding!
  • One more night of karaoke in town (before all the norebangs!)
  • Bake as much as possible; it seems like I probably won’t have an oven in Korea.
  • Spend as much time as I can with family and friends- my sister and I will both be unemployed and in town for January! I can’t explain how excited I am for this…
  • ???

I don’t know what I’m going to miss. I’m trying to think of all the things I take for granted here, but I keep drawing a blank. I think, in many ways, I’m ready to go (mentally, clearly not packed, etc.). Of course I will get homesick, and of course I will miss my family and friends, but I can’t think of the activities I’m going to miss. Maybe part of the problem is that I don’t do a lot here. I work, I cook, and I try to not fall asleep before 9 every night. It’s not much, and I really do like my life here, but I’m ready for a change.

Anyone else have “home” bucket lists? Things that you’ve always been meaning to do in your hometown but, for one reason or another, just haven’t?

4 thoughts on “52 and a bucket list

    • Yeah, I’m realizing that most of what I want to do around here is eat! I’m not sure what “ethnic” (that is, not Korean) foods I’ll be able to get in Korea, so I’m trying to eat up here! The only problem with that is that when I usually go out to eat, it’s Korean food (and I’m probably going to get a lot of that in a few months). Are you in Korea now? What are you doing there?

      • I’m jn the military. I was here before studying abroad, too.
        I eat Indian food every weekend and i’m not in a city as big as Seoul. Not super authentic, but good naan. Korea has a lot of Thai and Indian food. I’ve also found Chinese, Japanese, and American. My friends have favorite Mexican restaurants they go to, too. There are many cafes here, but i have yet to find a place with actual crepes 😦
        Froyo here is hella expensive, too.
        And i cant find American rice cakes (my staple item) or my favorite brand of greek yogurt.

      • Baking supplies are hard to come by unless you have access to a base. And their ovens are really crappy. They don’t really use dryers and the concept of a shower is different here.

Leave a Reply

