Weather questions

So, if you haven’t guessed, I live in Michigan. I love it here. It snows, it gets hot, the leaves change, new things grow…I love the seasons. In reading up on Korea, I’ve found that people really tend to complain about the hot and the cold. I imagine that it is quite a bit more humid in some places, being that it is a peninsula surrounded by ocean (rather than fresh water? I don’t know, it just seems like ocean winds would be stronger than lake ones?), but it can’t be that extreme, right? I guess I’m just a little worried that I’m going to freeze to death (despite long underwear, flannel lined jeans, fuzzy socks, and down coats).

I mean it, EVERY SINGLE BLOG says the same thing “OMG! KOREA IS SO COLD!” Are all the native teachers from southern climates? Does the humidity make that much of a difference? When I lived in Spain, I laughed at my host mother who told me that the cold would “get into [my] bones.” While it was chilly (January-May) with the near constant rain, it was certainly nothing like back home.

There isn’t much I can do about the weather in Korea, except experience it for myself and hope I’ve packed enough to be prepared for almost anything. In the mean time, I’m going to enjoy the free hot chocolate I got today (care of JSTOR!), the snow coming down outside my building, and the ability to multitask.

Pure Michigan

Pure Michigan

Oh, also, I made gingerbred cookie dough last night and I’m going to bake them today (HORRAY!). We’ll see how they turn out and I might post the recipe if they come out well!

Leave a Reply

