Blender magic

I’m pretty sure that blenders are magic. I am not, by any means, a picky eater (difficult, yes, but not picky- no gluten, no dairy, no pork, no shellfish, but otherwise I eat pretty much everything else but okra). However, I am (like a lot of people, I assume) lazy. It takes TIME! and EFFORT! to prepare/eat food and, frankly, sometimes I just want to eat something NOW.

Enter the blender. In about 5 minutes I can whip up a smoothie that is delicious and (fairly) healthy. Too hot to turn on the oven? Blenders are the perfect. I usually just throw in whatever fruit I have (peaches, plums, grapes, blueberries, melon, whatever), some green stuff (kale, spinach, avocado, celery, cucumber), add a touch of water or soymilk (depending on the combo), and some ice cubes. Sometimes I add honey. Sometimes I use frozen fruit (we ALWAYS have frozen strawberries in the fridge). Occasionally I add peanut butter. I am not a rigid recipe follower, so it changes every single time. Sometimes I have a smoothie for a meal, sometimes for a snack. No matter what, it is always delicious and fast.

Yesterday  made a cantaloupe and avocado smoothie and drank the equivalent of half a medium cantaloupe and half a large avocado in about 30 minutes. I have very little self-control and I don’t even feel a little bit sorry. SO DELICIOUS.

Today’s smoothie: Cantaloupe and avocado

Time: 10 minutes prep (if you’re a slow cutter like me), 1 minute blending
Servings: 2 (approximately, they’re around 8 oz. each, or just drink this all yourself)

Ingredients:

  • Half a ripe, medium cantaloupe, cut into chunks
  • Half a ripe avocado (I used a Hall, but feel free to use a Hass and put the whole thing in)
  • 4 ice cubes
  • 1 T honey (optional, but I like it)
  • 1/4-1/2 C water

Instructions:

  • Put ice cubes, avocado, and cantaloupe in blender (in that order- it actually does make a difference). Add honey (if you’re using it) and 1/4 C water.
  • Blend. If it’s not blending nicely (because, say, you have a crappy blender), add some more water.
  • Pour, drink, revel in your amazingness.
Leave a Reply

