Begin again (again)

So I have a million excuses for not blogging (I was going on a super-secret trip to Europe, I was in Europe, I moved, I started a new job, I was actively job hunting), but I think things have calmed down enough now to where I can create a rhythm for my life. That’s the thing, isn’t it? It’s hard to do something out of routine (for me, I don’t know about you), so I just don’t do it. Now I’m working a regular job (archiving photos) and preparing for my next big adventure.

What is that next big adventure? Well, starting in November (yes, THIS November!), I will be teaching English in South Korea! I don’t yet know my exact start date or location, but this is the next step in my life (AHHHHHHHH! Such a big one!). I just finished submitting all my Visa application paperwork last week, so I should have more details (and a final offer of a school location) shortly. This is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time now, and I’m glad that I’ve had incredible people around me encouraging me to do this (Adam, I’m lookin’ at you). I really don’t think I would’ve been able to take this step (leap?) without it.

So, in an effort to better document my time in Korea, I thought it might be helpful to get (back) into the habit of sharing my mundane life.

I’m working on a (short) recap of my summer, but for now I’ll just leave you with the recipe for the cheddar biscuits/rolls (biscolls) I made to go with dinner tonight. These are knock-out good and would be even better with a soup (tomato soup. Note to self: DO THIS), or you could change out the savory spices and make them for breakfast. The cheese is used in place of oils or butter and incorporates/distributes evenly into the dough to give a nice, flaky, texture. Because these are gluten-free and dairy free, they won’t have that really fall-apart-in-your-mouth flakiness, but this is the best I’ve ever had (if I do say so myself).

Cheddar Biscolls
Makes 8 biscuits
Ingredients:

  • 1 C plus a little more gluten-free flour (I used Bob’s Redmill)
  • 1/3 C potato starch (I assume other starches might work, too)
  • 1+1/2 t salt
  • 1t baking soda
  • 1/4-1/2 t pepper
  • 1-3 t Italian seasoning
  • 1/3 C dairy-free milk of your choice (I used Meijer Lactose Free Skim Milk)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 C grated cheese (I used Cabot white cheddar- did you know it is lactose free!?)

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Instructions:
1. In the bowl of a mixer (or just a large bowl) mix all the dry ingredients.
2. Add the egg, milk, and cheese and mix until dough just comes together (about 2 minutes). You may need  more flour depending on the weather. We had a humid day today, so I needed about 1/4 C more flour.
3. Chill for 20-30 minutes (not necessary, but I think it improved the texture)
4. Divide dough into 8 equal pieces (or however many you want). Roll the dough with your hands and flatten into disk shapes. Put them on a parchment-lined cookie sheet and bake for approximately 20 minutes. I got impatient at the end and turned the temperature up to 400 for 3 minutes and they were a lovely golden-brown.

Leave a Reply

