Mushrooms, mushrooms, everywhere

This looks to be a mushroom filled week (yum!). Last night for dinner, I made mushroom and kale stroganoff. I modified it so that it was vegan (veggie stock, Tofutti sour cream) and gluten free (Ancient Harvest noodles), but it was still creamy and delicious. Also, I doubled the amount of kale because 1. YUM I LOVE KALE! and 2. The bunch of kale I bought from the store was HUGE. It was the largest bunch I have ever seen. I think, if I make it again (probably, it was super easy), I will add some ground turkey or chicken to add more protein and give it an even richer flavor.  (Also, I made a double batch of this, because I thought “hey, this is probably going to be delicious and you’re probably going to want more…just make more now so you don’t have to wait!” GOOD CALL, SELF!)

The bad part about stroganoff (and the kitchen I’m in) is that it doesn’t photograph well. I tried to take a picture of it, and it just looked like a gross mass of noodles. I need to get my real camera (not just my phone) and get some good pictures in the future.

Wednesday I plan on making a version of this soup, but with portobellos instead of morels. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the flavor and complexity that morels bring to dishes, but I don’t have the cash to pay for that. As an aside, morels were the first mushrooms that I ever liked…I HATED mushrooms growing up, and then for New Year’s one year, my dad made a morel soup (clear broth) that I really liked. Anyways, I’m pretty excited about this mushroom soup (“cream!”). I’ll let you know how it turns out 🙂

Alright, I think I’m going to go sit by the pool and/or take the dog to the new dog park. I have all day tomorrow off to job search, so I’m going to relax a bit tonight.

One thought on “Mushrooms, mushrooms, everywhere

Leave a Reply

