Recipe: Oven Roasted Eggplant

ImageGrowing up, I hated eggplant. Something about the mushy/woody texture just didn’t work for me. My parents loved it, so we had it pretty frequently, and I would always make a scene and not eat it (babaganoush was OK). I also hated mushrooms, bananas, avocados, and spinach (most of them because the texture was “weird”).

Anchovy/garlic mixture ready to go onto the eggplant!That all changed last summer when I had some amazing fried eggplant with garlic. Ever since, I’ve been wild about it. No surprise, really, since I love garlic. I probably make this at least once a week; it’s super easy, tastes amazing, and it’s really hard to mess up.

Also, it incorporates anchovies, which are my new favorite addition to EVERYTHING. I would NEVER have eaten anchovies as a kid, and actually only started in this past year (because of this recipe). Just goes to show you how my tastes have changed. My mother even likes them in this!

All ready to go into the oven.This recipe is based almost entirely on the recipe at dash and bella. Thanks so much for introducing me to this amazing (and EASY) dish!

Oven Roasted Eggplant with Garlic
(Gluten free, dairy free)

Ingredients:

  • eggplant (I used a large, Italian, one, but you could use any kind; just make sure it is fresh)
  • 3-5 anchovies
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic
  • olive oil
  • pepper
  • parsley (dried)
  • salt (optional- my anchovies weren’t as salty as I wanted)
  1. Pre-heat oven to 375 F.
  2. Slice eggplant into rounds, about 1/4 in. thick.
  3. Mince anchovies and garlic, mix in a small bowl with about 2T of olive oil. Add in the spices and stir thoroughly.
  4. Place eggplant on a greased cookie sheet. Spoon the anchovy/garlic mixture  onto rounds, making sure to cover them thoroughly.
  5. Bake for about an hour, until they are soft and cooked all the way through (no “white” parts on the eggplant). It’s just important that they are not undercooked; there is a lot of wiggle-room on how long you can leave them in there.
Leave a Reply

